Keyword
Welcome, Guest
(118 Viewing)  (118) Guest

TOPIC: OpenROV

OpenROV 7 years 5 months ago #10648

• petey
  • Treasure Hobbyist
Nobody seems to have mentioned OpenROV yet. It's an open source ROV, and looks pretty great. I'm tempted to try my hand at making one, but I've never tried anything like that before. I'm not the most mechanically inclined person around, but I think it would be fun anyway.

I found out about it from this article: bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/28/a-mini-sub-made-from-cheap-parts-could-change-underwater-exploration/

Has anyone here built or used one of these? If so, I'd love to hear about it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: OpenROV 7 years 4 months ago #10651

• wreckdiver
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 178
Petey, thanks for posting this information about the open ROV. I had not heard about this project until your post. I have spent some time researching this on there website and I have to say that I am impressed with what I have seen to date.
The way these guys are working the project using off the shelf technology it looks like you can build it your self for under a $100 bucks, or you can buy a prefabricated kit for less than $900 bucks.
“Treasure – If it’s out there, we’re going to find it!” (Tommy Vawter)

Re: OpenROV 7 years 4 months ago #10653

• WhiteFeather
  • Expert Treasure Hunter
  • Thank you received: 469